The Godfather Week Three

Some of The dialogue in this film makes a lasting impactful mark on the viewer. When I hear “I’m gonna make him an offer he can’t refuse” (Ruddy, 1972) I picture someone willing to do anything to get their way. I picture the Don Vito Corleone willing and able to move mountains to further his cause. That line demonstrates the strength and conviction of the Don. Nothing can stop him from achieving his goals. The Don is an unstoppable force that should be feared and admired.

In the baptism murder scene you hear gunshots after every time Michael Corleone denounces satan. The noise of the murders he has committed lets the viewer know that Michael has crossed a line and will never be the man his father wanted him to be. Michael proclaims his purity and good nature to god while people are being murdered on his command. It adds to the mercilessness persona of Michael Corleone with the organ playing and the shadow on his face the viewer is left to wonder if Michael Corleone is pure evil.

In the beginning of the movie you hear the unforgettable music of The Godfather theme song. When I hear the very first note I instantly know what movie I am watching and what to expect. The song is just as iconic as the movie. It sets the tone of the whole film. Without it the film would not have stood out and would have had less of an impact on my film watching experience. When I hear the melody I picture calmly violent man sitting in a room deciding the fates of others.

The combination of all three categories of sound creates the gangster film genre. When I think of gangster films movies I thing of the raspy voice of Don Vito Corleone calmly discussing murders in his office while his family celebrates his only daughter’s wedding. When I hear the theme song I picture the transformation of Michael Corleone from an honorable man to cold blooded crime load. When I hear the gun shoots I think of every bullet slowly killing Michael Corleone’s soul.If any of these elements were missing the film would not be the same. It would just another mob movie and would have been forgotten by time.

References :

The Godfather – I’m Gonna Make Him An Offer He Can’t Refuse. [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmX2VzsB25s

The Godfather (1972, March 15). The Godfather opening scene. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CV5QskX_oW4

The Godfather (1972, March 15). The Baptism Murders. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CDlBLvc3YE

Leave a comment